If you followed a link from an email signed “Mike Stokes” and sent from a Gmail address, that email did not come from DevelopMyWeb.
What’s happening
We’re aware of emails being sent from mikestokes043@gmail.com that use the name of our director, Mike Stokes, along with DevelopMyWeb’s name and a link to this website.
The emails have the subject line “Urgent: Critical WordPress Security & PHP Compliance Updates Required by October 11th”. They claim your website needs urgent WordPress and PHP updates, warn of problems if the work isn’t done by the deadline, and offer to send over a scope of work for your approval.
These emails are fraudulent. Similar messages may also arrive from other Gmail addresses using Mike’s name.
How to tell it isn’t us
Genuine emails from Mike only ever come from an @developmyweb.com address. He never uses Gmail or any other free email service for business.
If you’re unsure about an email that uses our name, don’t reply to it. Get in touch using the contact details on this website instead.
If you’ve received one
- Don’t reply, and don’t send any payment, passwords or login details.
- If you’d like us to know about it, forward a copy to hello@developmyweb.com.
- Report it as phishing, then delete it. In Gmail, open the email, click the three dots next to the reply arrow and choose Report phishing. In Outlook, select the email, then choose Report and Report phishing.
If you’ve already replied
Stop all contact with the sender. If you’ve shared any passwords or website logins, change them straight away, and if DevelopMyWeb looks after your website, let us know so we can check it over. If you’ve sent any money, contact your bank immediately.
Last updated 3 October 2026